The Boyfriend Wish (Hardcover)

The Boyfriend Wish By Swati Teerdhala Cover Image
$19.99
Usually Ships in to Twig 1-5 Days

Description


A charming romantic comedy about a South Indian American teen girl who makes a wish upon a flower for her perfect boyfriend…and then a new boy moves in right next door. With love triangles, prank wars, and a sizzling sweet romance—this is perfect for fans of Sandhya Menon and Jenny Han.

There’s only one item left on Deepa Josyula's high school bucket list: finding the perfect boyfriend. But when her meticulously planned Homecoming proposal crashes and burns thanks to Vik Mehta—both neighbor and long-term nemesis ever since he started their neighborhood prank war—she’s not sure how she’s going to finish the list. To make things even worse, she’s stuck working with Vik on a Student Council committee. So when her grandmother gifts her a jasmine flower and tells her to make a wish, Deepa doesn’t see the harm. She wishes for her dream boyfriend, just like she had imagined when she was younger. The next morning a new neighbor moves into their cul-de-sac, and Rohit D’Souza crosses off everything on her ideal boyfriend wish list down to a tee: thoughtful, handsome, and romantic as hell.

She can hardly believe it. But according to her grandmother, the wish is only the beginning. To earn it, to complete it, the wish must be sealed with a kiss. But Rohit is quickly becoming the most popular new guy both in school and in her friend group, and Deepa hasn’t kissed a boy since freshman year. The more Deepa plans the perfect kiss with Rohit, the less sure she is of what her heart truly wants. Is it the perfect boy brought by magic—or the uncertainty of the boy who’s always been next door?

About the Author


Swati Teerdhala is a storyteller at heart. After graduating from the University of Virginia with a BS in finance and BA in history, she tumbled into the marketing side of the technology industry. She’s passionate about many things, including how to make a proper cup of tea, the right ratio of curd to crust in a lemon tart, and diverse representation in the stories we tell. The Tiger at Midnight is her debut novel. She currently lives in New York City. You can visit her online at www.swatiteerdhala.com.

Praise For…


"Adorable frenemies-to-lovers story with prank wars, banter, and loud giant families! Endearing and heartwarming! Delightful proof that not all wishes go the way you planned!" — Kat Cho, New York Times Bestselling Author of Once Upon a K-Prom and Wicked Fox

"Infused with warmth and laughter, The Boyfriend Wish is a joy to read. The banter had me grinning and blushing. With prank wars, checklists, and flowers (sometimes of the magical variety), Deepa's story is one that resonates, familiar and comforting in the best way." — Tashie Bhuiyan, author of Counting Down with You 

"There might not be a perfect boyfriend, but there's definitely a perfect book—this is it! The swoon-worthy, feel-good romance of the year." 
Axie Oh, New York Times bestselling author of The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea and XOXO

"Delightfully charming and fun, The Boyfriend Wish reads like a classic teen rom-com: filled with the best tropes, and a lot of heart!" 
Adiba Jaigirdar, Award-winning author of Hani and Ishu's Guide to Fake Dating

"A wish for the perfect boyfriend causes a teen to rethink all her plans. Filled with classic rom-com scenarios, this novel has plenty to delight readers. Charming." — Kirkus Reviews

"Lovable characters and an entertaining rivals-to-lovers twist adds bite to this delightfully digestible, lightly fantastical rom-com." — Publishers Weekly

"Teerdhala’s sweet, wintry romance is perfect for any season. The romantic arc here is charming, but the friendships are the star of the show. Deepa genuinely cares about her loved ones, and their dynamics will leave a smile on readers’ faces. This is the perfect choice for anyone looking for a warm pick-me-up." — Booklist

"Well-written ­dialogue helps maintain a quick pace. D­eepa’s sisters are especially well done in that rivalrous yet conspiratorial sisterly way. Light romance that is ­comfortably predictable and equally ­delicious." — School Library Journal



Product Details
ISBN: 9780063279155
ISBN-10: 0063279150
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Publication Date: February 13th, 2024
Pages: 336
Language: English