Veil of Doubt (Hardcover)

Veil of Doubt By Sharon Virts Cover Image
$28.95
Usually Ships in to Twig 1-5 Days

Description


When a mother is charged with murder in a town already convinced of her guilt, can defense attorney Powell Harrison find truth and justice in a legal system where innocence is not presumed? Emily Lloyd, a young widow in Reconstruction-era Virginia, is accused of poisoning her three-year-old daughter, Maud. It isn't the first death in her home--her husband and three other children all died of mysterious illnesses--so when Maud succumbs to an unexplained malady, the town suspects foul play. Soon Mrs. Lloyd is charged not only with poisoning the child but also with murdering her children, her husband, and her aunt. Enter Powell Harrison, a soft-spoken, brilliant attorney who recently returned to his Virginia hometown to help his brother manage their late father's practice. Approached to assist in Mrs. Lloyd's defense, Harrison initially declines, worried that an infanticide case might tarnish their family's reputation. But as details about the widow's erratic behavior and her reclusive neighbors emerge, Harrison begins to suspect that an even more sinister truth might lurk beneath the family's horrible fate and finds himself irresistibly drawn to the case. Based on a shocking true story, Veil of Doubt is part true-crime thriller, part medical and legal procedural. Perfect for fans of Margaret Atwood's Alias Grace and filled with rich period detail gleaned from exhaustive research, Veil of Doubt delves into the darkness of the South during Reconstruction, exposing intrigue, deception, and death.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781959411444
ISBN-10: 1959411446
Publisher: Girl Friday Books
Publication Date: October 10th, 2023
Pages: 368
Language: English