Author Appearance

K.A. Cobell, Looking for Smoke

author photoMarcia Argueta Mickelson will moderate this event.

Pre-Order Now Badge
Looking for Smoke By K. A. Cobell Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780063318670
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Heartdrum - June 4th, 2024

In her powerful debut novel, Looking for Smoke, author K. A. Cobell (Blackfeet) weaves loss, betrayal, and complex characters into a thriller that will illuminate, surprise, and engage readers until the final word. A must-pick for readers who enjoy books by Angeline Boulley and Karen McManus!


Sharon Miller, Finley Finds Her Way

author photoFinley Finds Her Way is a delightful tale of an American tree frog who’s in search of a different life and discovers who she’s truly meant to be.

Finley Finds her Way By Sharon R. Miller, Ashleigh Heyns (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Sharon R. Miller, Ashleigh Heyns (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9798987873410
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Pequeno Books - March 25th, 2024

Finley is bored. Bored with eating insects. Bored with sitting in trees. She's just plain bored. She wishes she had a different life.

When Finley escapes her enclosure at the zoo, she discovers who she's really meant to be. And who she's not.


Rob Wicall, Furlosophy: Beyond the Mascot: Insights Into Life and the NBA

book coverauthor photoIn the electrifying world of sports, where the spotlight often shines on star athletes and high-octane performances, Rob Wicall, an award-winning NBA mascot, carved a niche for himself that transcended the boundaries of the basketball court.

Alex Salinas Trash Poems; Harold Whit Williams: Selected Poems; Red Accordion Blues

Trash Poems By Alex Z. Salinas Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9798987569429
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Gnashing Teeth Publishing - November 21st, 2023

Trash Poems is a collection of poems from daily writings on found items: receipts, coffee cups, gum wrappers, and even a leaf. Each poem was written in the moment, with no thought to spelling or grammar, leaving the raw words of the moment on the page. Trash Poems is more than a book of poetry, it is a revolution and a movement.


David Meischen, Nopalito, Texas: Stories and Caliche Road Poems

David Meischen is the author of Nopalito, Texas: Stories (University of New Mexico Press, 2024) and Caliche Road Poems (Lamar University Press, 2024).

Nopalito, Texas: Stories By David Meischen Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9780826366009
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: University of New Mexico Press - April 15th, 2024

In this stunning debut story collection, everyone's got the blues but nobody is willing to sing it. Evelyn Smith, Candace Lambert, and Dorene Wahrmund chafe against rigid small-town expectations.


Caliche Road Poems By David Meischen Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9781962148030
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Lamar University Press - February 14th, 2024

David Meischen conjures the hackberries and mesquite, the cotton harvests and "rainless earth" of his rural Texas homeplace with meticulous reserve, clarity, and crisp music.


William Sturkey, The Ballad of Roy Benavidez

Pre-Order Now Badge
The Ballad of Roy Benavidez: The Life and Times of America’s Most Famous Hispanic War Hero By William Sturkey Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781541600263
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Basic Books - June 11th, 2024

The dramatic life of Vietnam War hero Roy Benavidez, a Mexican American Green Beret from a working-class family with deep roots in Texas, revealing how Hispanic Americans have long shaped US history

In May 1968, while serving in Vietnam, Master Sergeant Roy Benavidez led the rescue of a reconnaissance team surrounded by hundreds of enemy soldiers.


Colin Holmes, Thunder Road and The Oxygen Farmer

author photoSabotage, murder, cover-ups. Just another day on the Moon.

Pre-Order Now Badge
The Oxygen Farmer By Colin Holmes Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780744306699
Availability: Not Yet Published
Published: CamCat Books - December 3rd, 2024

Sabotage, murder, cover-ups. Just another day on the Moon.

After 35 years of living on the Moon, cranky old oxygen farmer Millennium Harrison has stumbled onto a hidden facility in the shadows of the Slayton Ridge Exclusion Zone with a radiation leak and a deadly secret.


Thunder Road By Colin Holmes Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780744304862
Availability: Usually Ships in to Twig 1-5 Days
Published: CamCat Books - February 15th, 2022

In this gamble, more than a few poker chips are at stake.

When an Army Air Force Major vanishes from his Top Secret job at the Fort Worth airbase in the summer of 1947, down-on-his-luck former Ranger Jefferson Sharp is hired to find him, because the Major owes a sizable gambling debt to a local mobster.


Gume Laurel III with Vincent Cooper, Assimilated Natives

"Embark on a Poetic Journey of Identity and Resilience with Assimilated Natives: A Collection of Borderland Poems Exploring the Complexities of Chicanx Heritage in America"

Assimilated Natives By Gume Laurel III Cover Image
$25.20
ISBN: 9781957840246
Availability: Not currently available
Published: Mouthfeel Press - March 30th, 2024

G. Neri, Safe Passage and e.E. Charlton-Trujillo, Fat Angie

author photoG. Neri is the Eisner-nominated, Coretta Scott King Honor-winning author of Yummy: the Last Days of a Southside Shorty, which CNN and Flavorwire hailed as one of the top 25 essential graphic novels of all-time.

Safe Passage By G. Neri, David Brame (Illustrator) Cover Image
By G. Neri, David Brame (Illustrator)
$20.95
ISBN: 9781643790343
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tu Books - March 26th, 2024

From Coretta Scott King Honor-winning author of Yummy G. Neri comes an epic journey across the South Side of Chicago for Darius, his little sister Cissy, and his best friend Booger as they set out to find an armored truck that has lost a payload of cash.


Yummy: The Last Days of a Southside Shorty By G. Neri, Randy Duburke (Illustrator) Cover Image
By G. Neri, Randy Duburke (Illustrator)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781584302674
Availability: Usually Ships in to Twig 1-5 Days
Published: Lee & Low Books - August 1st, 2010

Coretta Scott King Author Award Honor - American Library Association (ALA)
Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards Nominee

A graphic novel based on the life and death of Robert "Yummy" Sandifer, an eleven-year-old gang member from Chicago's Southside who was killed by his own gang members.


Chess Rumble By G. Neri, Jesse Joshua Watson (Illustrator) Cover Image
By G. Neri, Jesse Joshua Watson (Illustrator)
$12.95
ISBN: 9781620141892
Availability: Usually Ships in to Twig 1-5 Days
Published: Lee & Low Books - November 1st, 2007

A story in free verse about a troubled boy who learns to use his mind instead of his fists through the guidance of an unconventional mentor and the game of chess.

Three moves
is all it takes
to change the outcome
of the game.


Grand Theft Horse By G. Neri, Corban Wilkin (Illustrator) Cover Image
By G. Neri, Corban Wilkin (Illustrator)
$19.95
ISBN: 9781620148556
Availability: Usually Ships in to Twig 1-5 Days
Published: Tu Books - September 25th, 2018

Yummy author G. Neri returns to graphic novels with the powerful story of his cousin Gail Ruffu, who stole a racehorse in order to save it, and ended up fighting the whole racing industry for the humane treatment of animals.


My Antarctica: True Adventures in the Land of Mummified Seals, Space Robots, and So Much More By G. Neri, Corban Wilkin (Illustrator) Cover Image
By G. Neri, Corban Wilkin (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781536223323
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick - March 5th, 2024

Follow Coretta Scott King Honor–winning author G. Neri to the end of the world in a captivating travel memoir that explores Antarctica through the curiosity and wonder of his inner child—the kid who dreamed of one day becoming an explorer.


Fat Angie By e.E. Charlton-Trujillo Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780763680190
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick - September 8th, 2015

“A hard-hitting third novel that swings between incredibly painful low moments and hard-won victories.” — Publishers Weekly (starred review)


Joe Jiménez, Hot Boy Summer

author photoFour gay teens in Texas have the summer of their lives while discovering important truths about realness, belonging, and friendship in this joyful young adult contemporary novel for fans of Adam Silvera and Becky A

Hot Boy Summer By Joe Jiménez Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781665932059
Availability: Usually Ships in to Twig 1-5 Days
Published: MTV Books - May 7th, 2024

Four gay teens in Texas have the summer of their lives while discovering important truths about realness, belonging, and friendship in this joyful young adult contemporary novel for fans of Adam Silvera and Becky Albertalli.

Mac has never really felt like he belonged.


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Author Appearance