Author Appearance

Robert Willingham, Deadly Trust: The Mysterious Disappearance of the Nelms Sisters

Robert M. Willingham, Jr., was born in Washington, Georgia. He is the author of several books on his native Wilkes County, as well as works on Georgia and Confederate bibliography and sports history. He and his wife, Ginny King, have restored an 1873 home and are avid collectors of Georgia folk pottery.

About Deadly Trust:

James McCollom, The Last Sheriff in Texas-A True Tale of Violence and the Vote

James McCollom is the author of The Continental Affair: The Rise and Fall of the Continental Illinois Bank. A native son of Beeville, Texas, he has worked as a banker and business executive in the Northeast before settling back in his hometown.

The Last Sheriff in Texas: A True Tale of Violence and the Vote By James P. McCollom Cover Image
$26.00
This title is a special order. Please call the shop at (210)826-6411 to check availability.
ISBN: 9781619029965
Published: Counterpoint - November 14th, 2017

An Amazon Best History Book of the Month

This true crime story transports readers to a tumultuous time in Texas history—when the old ways clashed with the new—as it sheds light on police brutality, gun control, Mexican American civil rights, and much more


Kate Winkler Dawson, Death in the Air: The True Story of a Serial Killer, the Great London Smog, and the Strangling of a City

Ricardo Pimentel, the Editorial Page Editor at the San Antonio Express News will interview the author at this event.

Death in the Air: The True Story of a Serial Killer, the Great London Smog, and the Strangling of a City By Kate Winkler Dawson Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780316506861
Availability: Not currently available
Published: Hachette Books - October 17th, 2017

A real-life thriller in the vein of The Devil in the White City, Kate Winkler Dawson's debut Death in the Air is a gripping, historical narrative of a serial killer, an environmental disaster, and an iconic city struggling to regain its footing.


Miles Arceneaux, Hidden Sea

The author of five funny, fast-paced novels of intrigue set on the Texas Gulf Coast, Miles Arceneaux is a one-of-a-kind writer. Or, more precisely, he is three-of-a-kind—an irreverent persona that is the product of three friends, lifelong Texans, and Gulf Coast aficionados sharing a typewriter and one nom de plume.

Bernadette Nason, Tea in Tripoli

Tea in Tripoli: A Memoir By Bernadette M. Nason Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9780998784809
Availability: Usually Ships in to Twig 1-5 Days
Published: Brave Bear & Company - May 5th, 2017

Broken by divorce, debt, and workplace sexual harassment, twenty-six-year-old Bernadette Nason is hanging by a thread. When her cat is run over by a garbage truck, Nason makes an impetuous decision. With almost no travel experience, she grabs the first available overseas job and, within two months, finds herself in Libya.


CANCELLED - Christopher Carmona, The Road to Llorona Park

This event has been cancelled.

The Road to Llorona Park By Christopher Carmona Cover Image
$22.40
ISBN: 9781622881178
Availability: Usually Ships in to Twig 1-5 Days
Published: Stephen F. Austin University Press - July 12th, 2016

NAMED BY NBC NEWS AS ONE OF EIGHT GREAT LATINO BOOKS PUBLISHED IN 2016

The Road to Llorona Park is a collection of short fiction about the changing world of la frontera/the borderlands of the Rio Grande Valley of South Texas. The stories center around the current times when the political upheavals of Mexico began to effect peoples lives on both sides of the border.


140 Twitter Poems (Bilanguaging Edition) By Christopher Carmona, Gerald Padilla (Translator) Cover Image
$16.80
ISBN: 9780998539003
Availability: Usually Ships in to Twig 1-5 Days
Published: Jade Publishing - January 9th, 2017

This book is a collection of 140 poems written over 140 days by Christopher Carmona and translated by Gerald Padilla. This collection is a series a poems that cover the space of December 1, 2015 to April 12, 2016. Each poem represents a reflection of the day it was written and speaks of the social and political fervor of the day.


Trita Parsi, Losing an Enemy: Obama, Iran, and the Triumph of Diplomacy

Losing an Enemy: Obama, Iran, and the Triumph of Diplomacy By Trita Parsi Cover Image
$32.50
ISBN: 9780300218169
Availability: Not currently available
Published: Yale University Press - August 1st, 2017

The definitive book on Obama’s historic nuclear deal with Iran from the author of the Foreign Affairs Best Book on the Middle East in 2012

This timely book focuses on President Obama’s deeply considered strategy toward Iran’s nuclear program and reveals how the historic agreement of 2015 broke the persistent stalemate in negotiations that had bl


Roger Hodge, Texas Blood: Seven Generations Among the Outlaws, Ranchers, Indians, Missionaries, Soldiers, and Smugglers of the Borderlands

Roger D. Hodge is national editor of The Intercept and author of The Mendacity of Hope: Barack Obama and the Betrayal of American Liberalism. Formerly he was the editor of the Oxford American and Harper's Magazine.

Texas Blood: Seven Generations Among the Outlaws, Ranchers, Indians, Missionaries, Soldiers, and Smugglers of the Borderlands By Roger D. Hodge Cover Image
$28.95
This title is a special order. Please call the shop at (210)826-6411 to check availability.
ISBN: 9780307961402
Published: Knopf - October 10th, 2017

In the tradition of Ian Frazier's Great Plains, and as vivid as the work of Cormac McCarthy, an intoxicating, singularly illuminating history of the Texas borderlands from their settlement through seven generations of Roger D. Hodge's ranching family.


Kate Silvas, You Are Not Alone: A Book of Hope for Parents Dealing With Reactive Attachment Disorder

A native of Long Island, New York, Kate Silvas is a graduate of Trinity University in San Antonio, Texas, where she earned her BA in Communications and a MS in Urban Administration.

J. Michael Dolan, Trumpets of Jericho

At the age of twelve, Mr. Dolan read the iconic I Cannot Forgive by Rudolf Vrba, and has been an avid student of the Holocaust since. For reasons that elude him today, though, he never thought of writing about it.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Author Appearance