Author Appearance

Betty Baumgardner, A Trip Along the Hog's Back

book coverBetty Baumgardner grew up helping her family run a Trading Post on the Navajo Reservation, in New Mexico.  She has been a writer and creat

Kay Karcher Mijangos and Laura Mijangos, Looking for the Cherries

book coverauthor photoThis is a delightful story of Bobbis and his life as told by Frankie his granddaughter. He triumphed over poverty and illness to become a well-known artist.

Thelma J. Love, A Perfectly (Imperfect) Masterpiece

Guided by the inspirational journeys of icons like Michelle Obama, Alicia Keys, Cicely Tyson, Jane Fonda, Maya Angelou, Oprah Winfrey, Rebekah Gregory, Stacey Abrams, and Viola Davis, Thelma has made it her life’s mission to help others reveal their authentic selves. She encourages each of us to face our C.O.R.E.s ...

Cary Clack, Lorenzo Gomez III, Kirsten Thompson, Worth Repeating

event flyerWorth Repeating: San Antonio Stories shares 40 stories that stretch from Uganda to Iran and from the Mexican border to the “Turkey Capital of the World” Cuero, Texas. Each story shines a new light on peoples’ experiences, all with a puro San Antonio twist.

Worth Repeating: San Antonio Stories By Paul Flahive (Editor), Tori Pool (Editor), Burgin Streetman (Editor) Cover Image
By Paul Flahive (Editor), Tori Pool (Editor), Burgin Streetman (Editor)
$19.95
ISBN: 9781595349941
Availability: Usually Ships in to Twig 1-5 Days
Published: Maverick Books - August 15th, 2023

"This soulful collection is perfect for fans of The Moth or Humans of New York." -- Publishers Weekly


Elizabeth Crook, The Madstone

With echoes of Lonesome Dove and News of the World, the riveting story of a pregnant young mother, her child, and the frontier tradesman who helps them flee across Texas from outlaws bent on revenge, even as an unlikely love blossoms.

The Madstone: A Novel By Elizabeth Crook Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9780316564342
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown and Company - November 7th, 2023

“A wonderfully transporting tale of love in the Old West” (People Magazine) and “a brilliant, beautiful page-turner” (Chris Bohjalian, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Double Blind) about a pregnant young mother, her child, and the frontier tradesman who helps them flee vengeful outlaws, in a work that echoes Lonesome Dove 


Alystair West, Marshland

author photoIn the 1980s in Texas, a young attorney stumbles into a mystery unfolding on various levels—personal, legal, political, moral, and spiritual. A plane crashes in a storm, leaving two people dead.

Marshland By Alystair West Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781664298200
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: WestBow Press - June 6th, 2023

In the 1980s in Texas, a young attorney stumbles into a mystery unfolding on various levels-personal, legal, political, moral, and spiritual. A plane crashes in a storm, leaving two people dead. The event threatens an important transaction for Arthur Stone's law firm involving Marshland Savings Association. Worst of all, his life and career may be at risk as well.


Lee Warren, M.D., Hope Is the First Dose

A practicing neurosurgeon and award-winning author shares his roadmap to finding hope and even happiness when the worst happens—by placing trust in God—in this powerful memoir of personal tragedy, grief, and recovery.

Hope Is the First Dose: A Treatment Plan for Recovering from Trauma, Tragedy, and Other Massive Things By W. Lee Warren, M.D. Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780593445396
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: WaterBrook - July 18th, 2023

A practicing neurosurgeon and award-winning author shares his roadmap to finding hope and even happiness when the worst happens—by placing trust in God—in this powerful memoir of personal tragedy, grief, and recovery.


Aurelio Manuel Montemayor and Thomas Ray Garcia, El Curzo de la Raza

El Curso de la Raza: The Education of Aurelio Manuel Montemayor tells the story of Chicano activist and self-described fronterizo Aurelio Manuel Montemayor, whose dual identities as an educator and political organizer informed his hitherto little-known role in develo

El Curso de la Raza: The Education of Aurelio Manuel Montemayor By Thomas Ray Garcia, Aurelio Montemayor, Norma E. Cantú (Foreword by), Cynthia Orozco (Introduction by) Cover Image
By Thomas Ray Garcia, Aurelio Montemayor, Norma E. Cantú (Foreword by), Cynthia Orozco (Introduction by)
$45.00
ISBN: 9781648431272
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Texas A&M University Press - June 20th, 2023

El Curso de la Raza: The Education of Aurelio Manuel Montemayor tells the story of Chicano activist and self-described fronterizo Aurelio Manuel Montemayor, whose dual identities as an educator and political organizer informed his hitherto little-known role in developing a course, or curso, that cultivated Chicano leadership from the barrios.


Jane Botkin, The Pink Dress, Memoir of a Reluctant Beauty Queen

book coverThe Pink Dress awakens nostalgia for the 1960s and 1970s, the era’s conflicts and growth pains. A common expectation that women went to college to get “MRS” degrees; to find a husband and become a stay-at-home wife and mother; often prevailed.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Author Appearance