Melissa Broughton, Cowboy Dad: Love, Alcoholism, and a Dying Way of Life

book coverGrowing up as the child of an alcoholic can be full of heartbreak, disappointment, and pain-but it can also contain moments of brilliance, passion, and love.

In Cowboy Dad: Love, Alcoholism, and a Dying Way of Life, author Melissa Broughton offers a raw and candid look at life with her alcoholic father, as well as the beautiful country lifestyle she led while living on a small-town ranch. Poignant but also full of humor and wit, these true stories take a heart wrenchingly honest look at alcoholism, grief, death, and faith while detailing a tight-knit family's attempt to cope with a horrible disease...and its profound consequences.

Both inspiring and encouraging, these tales detail Broughton's life growing up on the ranch under the specter of addiction and convey the acute effect that alcoholism can have-not only on the addicts, but also on the loved ones around them.

For fans of Elizabeth Gilbert, Cheryl Strayed, and Anne Lamott, Cowboy Dad is a beautiful story of family, sorrow, and learning how to separate the person from the disease.

About the Author:
Melissa Broughton is a teacher and writer. The first in her family to attend college, she holds a master's degree in higher education administration. She earned an Alcohol and Drug Counseling certificate and is an ACA-Adult Child of an Alcoholic. At her core, she is a small-town girl who spent her childhood in Colorado and Wyoming. She currently resides in Santa Barbara, California.

Broughton is the author of The Little College Handbook: A First Generation's Guide to Getting In and has been published in Chicken Soup for the Soul.

 

Event date: 
Thursday, September 21, 2023 - 5:30pm to 7:00pm
Event address: 
306 Pearl Parkway
Suite 106
San Antonio, TX 78215
Cowboy Dad Companion Workbook: Guided Writing for Adult Children of Alcoholics By Melissa Broughton M. Ed Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781975751692
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform - October 17th, 2017

Have you ever wondered why you think or act the way you do in relationships or life in general? This Companion Workbook is for Adult Children of Alcoholics. It is recommended that "Cowboy Dad", the original memoir be read first and in conjunction with this Companion Workbook.


Event Category: