Northside Author Visits

Lots of wonderful authors visiting NISD this Fall!

ALL BOOKS ORDERED ONLINE- PLEASE ADD YOUR SCHOOL & Child’s NAME IN ORDER COMMENT AT CHECKOUT. All books ordered online by the deadlines will be delivered to the school.
MUST USE COUPON CODE FOR 20% DISCOUNT

    

 

 

 

 

Scroll down for book links to shop!


David Bowles, Coupon code: BOWLES

Order deadline: Monday, October 2nd


Jeffrey Bennett, Coupon code: BENNETT

Order deadline: Tuesday, September 26th


Kacy Ritter, Coupon code: RITTER

Order deadline: Monday, September 4th


Marc Tyler Nobleman, Coupon code: NOBLEMAN
Week 1 Deadline: Orders Must Be Placed ONLINE BY Midnight Monday, September 4th

Week 2 Deadline: Orders Must Be Placed ONLINE BY Midnight Monday, September 11th

October Deadline: Orders Must Be Placed ONLINE BY Midnight Friday, October 6th


Varsha Bajaj, Coupon code: BAJAJ
Week 1 Deadline: Orders Must Be Placed ONLINE BY Midnight Monday, September 18th

Week 2 Deadline: Orders Must Be Placed ONLINE BY Midnight Friday, October 6th


13th Street #1: Battle of the Bad-Breath Bats By David Bowles, Shane Clester (Illustrator) Cover Image
By David Bowles, Shane Clester (Illustrator)
$6.99
ISBN: 9780062947796
Availability: Backordered
Published: HarperCollins - July 7th, 2020

A new silly and spooky highly illustrated series that’s perfect for fans of Eerie Elementary and Notebooks of Doom, featuring art on every page and fun activities at the end of each book. It's a Halloween chapter book treat!


They Call Me Güero: A Border Kid's Poems By David Bowles Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780593462553
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Kokila - August 24th, 2021

An award-winning novel in verse about a boy who navigates the start of seventh grade and life growing up on the border the only way that feels right—through poetry.


They Call Her Fregona: A Border Kid's Poems By David Bowles Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780593462584
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Kokila - August 29th, 2023

A companion to the Pura Belpré Honor book They Call Me Güero


My Two Border Towns By David Bowles, Erika Meza (Illustrator) Cover Image
By David Bowles, Erika Meza (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780593111048
Availability: Usually Ships in to Twig 1-5 Days
Published: Kokila - September 14th, 2021

A picture book debut by an award-winning author about a boy's life on the U.S.-Mexico border, visiting his favorite places on The Other Side with his father, spending time with family and friends, and sharing in the responsibility of community care.


Totality!: An Eclipse Guide in Rhyme and Science By Jeffrey Bennett Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781937548865
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Big Kid Science - September 14th, 2022

Tens of millions of people came out to view the 2017 total solar eclipse, the first in the US in nearly four decades. Now we are approaching an even more exciting, back-to-back pair of US eclipses: an annular eclipse on Oct. 14, 2023 and a total solar eclipse on April 8, 2024.


Max Goes to the Moon: A Science Adventure with Max the Dog (Science Adventures with Max the Dog series) By Jeffrey Bennett, Alan Okamoto (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Jeffrey Bennett, Alan Okamoto (Illustrator)
$15.00
ISBN: 9781937548209
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Big Kid Science - September 26th, 2012

Winner of:
2013 Science Communication Award, American Institute of Physics

Max the Dog and a young girl named Tori take the first trip to the Moon since the Apollo era, and their trip proves so inspiring to people back on Earth that all the nations of the world come together to build a great Moon colony.


The Great Texas Dragon Race By Kacy Ritter Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780063247925
Availability: Usually Ships in to Twig 1-5 Days
Published: Clarion Books - August 1st, 2023

Wings of Fire meets The Hunger Games in this debut contemporary middle grade fantasy stand-alone about thirteen-year-old Cassidy Drake, who enters the dangerous Great Texas Dragon Race to save her family’s dragon sanctuary.


Bill the Boy Wonder: The Secret Co-Creator of Batman By Marc Tyler Nobleman, Ty Templeton (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Marc Tyler Nobleman, Ty Templeton (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781580892896
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Charlesbridge - July 1st, 2012

Discover the surprising origins of the legendary caped crusader in this entertaining picture book biography for young fans of Batman and superheroes

Batman’s biggest secret is not Bruce Wayne . . .


Boys of Steel: The Creators of Superman By Marc Tyler Nobleman, Ross Macdonald (Illustrator) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780449810637
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dragonfly Books - June 11th, 2013

Jerry Siegel and Joe Shuster, two high school misfits in Depression-era Cleveland, were more like Clark Kent--meek, mild, and myopic--than his secret identity, Superman. Both boys escaped into the worlds of science fiction and pulp magazine adventure tales. Jerry wrote his own original stories and Joe illustrated them.


The Chupacabra Ate the Candelabra By Marc Tyler Nobleman, Ana Aranda (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Marc Tyler Nobleman, Ana Aranda (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780399174438
Availability: Usually Ships in to Twig 1-5 Days
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - March 7th, 2017

With its hilarious dialogue, trio of bumbling goats, and fantastically zany villain, this unique, laugh-out-loud story based on a legendary monster is sure to crack up kids and grown-ups alike.
 


Fairy Spell: How Two Girls Convinced the World That Fairies Are Real By Marc Tyler Nobleman, Eliza Wheeler (Illustrator) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780544699489
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Clarion Books - April 24th, 2018

The true story of British cousins who fooled the world for more than 60 years with a remarkable hoax, photographs of “real” fairies. Exquisitely illustrated with art by Eliza Wheeler as well as the original photos taken by the girls.

In 1917, in Cottingley, England, a girl named Elsie took a picture of her younger cousin, Frances.


Thirty Minutes Over Oregon: A Japanese Pilot's World War II Story By Marc Tyler Nobleman, Melissa Iwai (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Marc Tyler Nobleman, Melissa Iwai (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780544430761
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Clarion Books - October 9th, 2018

An Orbis Pictus Honor Book for Outstanding Nonfiction 2019

In this important and moving true story of reconciliation after war, beautifully illustrated in watercolor, a Japanese pilot bombs the continental U.S.


Vocabulary Cartoon of the Day: Grades 4–6: 180 Reproducible Cartoons That Help Kids Build a ROBUST and PRODIGIOUS Vocabulary By Marc Tyler Nobleman Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780439517690
Availability: Usually Ships in to Twig 1-5 Days
Published: Teaching Resources - March 1st, 2005

What better way to make vocabulary words stick than through funny and engaging cartoons? Just one cartoon a day, complete with clear, simple definitions and sentences, will help build students' vocabulary and boost their reading, writing, and test-taking skills.


Thirst By Varsha Bajaj Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780593354414
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - April 18th, 2023

This New York Times Bestseller features a heroic girl who fights for her belief that water should be for everyone.


Thirst By Varsha Bajaj Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593354391
Availability: Usually Ships in to Twig 1-5 Days
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - July 19th, 2022

A New York Times Bestseller

The riveting story of a heroic girl who fights for her belief that water should be for everyone.


This Is Our Baby, Born Today By Varsha Bajaj, Eliza Wheeler (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Varsha Bajaj, Eliza Wheeler (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9781984814135
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - September 10th, 2019

A baby is born and the world rejoices!

With a loving mama, a trumpeting herd, curious cousins, and even some dancing peacocks heralding this little one’s arrival, it is apparent that the joy and wonder a new baby brings is shared by all!


Count Me In By Varsha Bajaj Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780525517269
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - August 25th, 2020

An uplifting story, told through the alternating voices of two middle-schoolers, in which a community rallies to reject racism.


Count Me In By Varsha Bajaj Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525517245
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - August 27th, 2019

An uplifting story, told through the alternating voices of two middle-schoolers, in which a community rallies to reject racism.